Sub-Workshop:

Preferences and Norm

 

Programme Co-Chairs

Tommie Meyer

Meraka Institute, Building 43, CSIR

Meiring Naude Avenue, Brummeria,

Pretoria,

South Africa

Phone: +27 12 841 4017

Fax: +27 12 841 4720

tommie.meyer@meraka.org.za

http://ksg.meraka.org.za/~tmeyer/

Eugenia Ternovska

School of Computing Science

Simon Fraser University

Burnaby, B.C.

Canada

Phone: +1 778.782.4771

Fax: +1 778.782.3045

ter@cs.sfu.ca

http://www.cs.sfu.ca/~ter

© Copyright NMR-2010


                                                                  CALL FOR PAPERS



In the last decades, the literature on preferences and norms has grown and flourished in multiple areas of computer science, including Logic, Databases, Artificial Intelligence, Multi-Agent Systems and Human-Computer Interaction.


Although there has been a growing interest in the last 10 years, the consideration of preferences in non-monotonic reasoning has been going on for 20 years. The spectrum of recent applications that resort on the ability to handle preferences is extremely wide, ranging from configuration softwares and recommender systems to autonomous agents and group decision-making. For such applications, handling information in terms of preferences appears to be especially appealing, because it allows the user(s) to specify desires in a declarative way, to combine qualitative and quantitative modes of reasoning, and to deal with inconsistencies and exceptions in a quite flexible manner.


Historically non-monotonic logic and deontic logic have been related. On the one hand, Hansson's preference based deontic logic DSDL3 introduced in 1969 may be seen as the predecessor of preferential semantics used in non-monotonic logic, and on the other hand non-monotonic logics developed in the 80s and 90s have given rise to the new subfield of defeasible deontic logic, in which non-monotonic reasoning techniques are used to formalize prima facie obligations, deontic dilemmas, contrary-to-duty reasoning, norm change, merging of normative systems, and more.


Finally, preferences and norms have many interconnections. In the sixties, von Wright's logic of preference already distinguished intrinsic from extrinsic preferences, where the latter were directly related to conditional obligations. For example, if obligations are expressed as conditionals "if p, then q" using a preference based semantics, then they can be represented by a preference of p and q over p and the absence of q. Some more sophisticated preference and deontic logics developed since then have been related to, but how they are related in general is an important open problem. Besides contributions in preferences and contributions in norms, the workshop particularly welcomes papers that examine these notions together.


The list of topics of interest includes but is not limited to:


- preference languages

- preference semantics

- defeasible logics

- reasoning about preferences

- preference-based planning

- preferences in constraint programming

- preferences in logic programming

- preferences in multi-agent systems

- preference revision and fusion

- preference elicitation

- preference learning

- preference modeling frameworks

- prima facie obligations

- deontic dilemmas

- normative multiagent systems

- formal models of norm change

- merging normative systems

- permissive norms

- epistemic norms

- constitutive norms

- imperatives


SESSION CHAIRS


Leon van der Torre (University of Luxembourg)

http://agamemnon.uni.lu/ILIAS/vandertorre/


Frederic Koriche (Université Montpellier II)

http://www.lirmm.fr/~koriche/


PROGRAMME COMMITTEE


Guido Boella (Italy)

guido@di.unito.it

http://www.di.unito.it/~guido/


Gerhard Brewka (Germany)

G.Brewka@t-online.de

http://www.informatik.uni-leipzig.de/~brewka/


Jan Broersen (The Netherlands)

broersen@cs.uu.nl

http://people.cs.uu.nl/broersen/


Jan Chomicki (USA)

chomicki@buffalo.edu

http://www.cse.buffalo.edu/~chomicki/


Jim Delgrande (Canada)

jim@cs.sfu.ca

http://www.cs.sfu.ca/~jim/


Judy Goldsmith (USA)

goldsmit@cs.uky.edu

http://www.cs.uky.edu/~goldsmit/


Guido Governatori (Australia)

guido@governatori.net

http://www.governatori.net/research/index.html


Davide Grossi (The Netherlands)

d.grossi@uva.nl

http://www.davidegrossi.name/home.html


Jörg Hansen (Germany)

jhansen@bachhaus.de


Sven Ove Hansson (Sweden)

soh@kth.se

http://www.infra.kth.se/~soh/


John F. Horty (USA)

horty@umiacs.umd.edu

http://www.umiacs.umd.edu/~horty/


Katsumi Inoue (Japan)

ki@nii.ac.jp

http://research.nii.ac.jp/~ki/official/content_e.html


Jerome Lang (France)

Lang@irit.fr

http://www.irit.fr/recherches/RPDMP/persos/Jerome.html


Fenrong Liu (China)

fenrong@mail.tsinghua.edu.cn


Sheila McIlraith (Canada)

sheila@cs.toronto.edu

http://www.cs.toronto.edu/~sheila/


Tran Cao Son (USA)

tson@cs.nmsu.edu

http://www.cs.nmsu.edu/~tson/


Hans Tompits (Austria)

tompits@kr.tuwien.ac.at

http://www.kr.tuwien.ac.at/staff/tompits/


Kewen Wang (Australia)

k.wang@griffith.edu.au

http://www.cit.gu.edu.au/~kewen/


Nic Wilson (Ireland)

n.wilson@4c.ucc.ie

http://4c.ucc.ie/web/index.jsp


Bruno Zanuttini (France)

bruno.zanuttini@info.unicaen.fr

http://users.info.unicaen.fr/~zanutti/english.html




SUBMISSION


Submitted articles will undergo peer-review. Papers must be submitted

in AAAI style and in PDF only.  The maximum length of a submission is

7 pages including references, figures, and appendixes if any.  Papers

should be submitted via Easychair using the following link.

http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=nmr2010preferencesandnorms



IMPORTANT DATES


Papers due:     January 29 (Friday), 2010

Notification:   March 1 (Monday), 2010

Final version:  April 6 (Tuesday), 2010

Workshop:       May 14-16, 2010