Action and Belief Change


Programme Co-Chairs

Tommie Meyer

Meraka Institute, Building 43, CSIR

Meiring Naude Avenue, Brummeria,


South Africa

Phone: +27 12 841 4017

Fax: +27 12 841 4720

Eugenia Ternovska

School of Computing Science

Simon Fraser University

Burnaby, B.C.


Phone: +1 778.782.4771

Fax: +1 778.782.3045

© Copyright NMR-2010

                                                                CALL FOR PAPERS

Reasoning about actions, causality, and belief change are well established research areas in non-monotonic reasoning. Thanks to advances in these areas in recent years, it has become evident that the boundaries between these research areas are hardly discernible and that they have more in common than it was previously believed. For this reason, since the 2008 edition of NMR, the traditional ``Action and Change'' and ``Belief Change'' tracks have been merged into a new ``Actions and Belief Change'' sub-workshop. 

In addition to the traditional topics in the areas of reasoning about actions and belief change, we particularly encourage papers exploring the common territory that will further promote the cross-fertilization between these two areas. This would include, for example, reasoning about complex and dynamic environments, belief and knowledge merging under actions, multi-agent belief revision through communication, and so on. 

The specialized workshop on Action and Belief Change is a one-day event intended to bring together researchers interested in the areas of reasoning about action, causality and belief change, and to discuss current research, results and problems of a theoretical, foundational or practical nature. In particular, researchers from allied fields are encouraged to submit papers and participate in the workshop. This workshop will be part of the technical program of the 13th International Workshop on Non-monotonic Reasoning (NMR'10), to be held in Toronto, Canada, and collocated with the KR 2010, ICAPS 2010, FOIS 2010 and AAMAS 2010 conferences.


Authors are invited to submit original papers on all aspects of

reasoning about actions, causal reasoning, and belief change. 

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

    * reasoning about actions formalisms/calculi,

    * causal reasoning,

    * cognitive robotics,

    * frame problem, ramification problem, qualification problem,

    * planning,

    * systems for reasoning about actions

    * theoretical and philosophical foundations of belief change

    * belief revision/merging

    * knowledge update

    * iterated belief change

    * non-prioritized belief change

    * multi-agent belief change and mutual belief revision

    * complexity issues of belief change

    * implementations and applications 

We also welcome suggestions for panel discussions.

Important Dates

    * Paper submissions: January 29, 2010

    * Acceptance decision: March 1, 2010

    * Camera ready copy: April 6, 2010

Submission Details

Papers must be submitted in AAAI style and in PDF only. The maximum length of a submission is 7 pages including references, figures, and appendixes if any.

 Your submission in PDF should be sent to each of the co-chairs via an

e-mail (to and with subject header: 

"[NMR] A&BC sub-workshop paper submission", without the quotes.

Session Co-Chairs

    * Richard Booth, University of Luxembourg & Mahasarakham University

    * Alfredo Gabaldon, New University of Lisbon

Program Committee

    * Guillaume Aucher, University of Luxembourg

    * Richard Booth, University of Luxembourg & Mahasarakham University

    * Jim Delgrande, Simon Fraser University

    * Esra Erdem, Sabanciu University

    * Alfredo Gabaldon, New University of Lisbon

    * Andreas Herzig, Universite Paul Sabatier

    * Sebastien Konieczny, Universite d'Artois

    * Gerhard Lakemeyer, RWTH Aachen

    * Joohyung Lee, Arizona State University

    * Ronald Petrick, University of Edinburgh

    * Guilin Qi, Southeast University, Nanjing

    * Hans Rott, University of Regensburg

    * Sebastian Sardina, RMIT University

    * Michael Thielscher, The University of New South Wales

    * Son Cao Tran, New Mexico State University

    * Dongmo Zhang, University of Western Sydney