Argument, Dialog and Decision


Program Co-Chairs

Tommie Meyer

Meraka Institute, Building 43, CSIR

Meiring Naude Avenue, Brummeria,


South Africa

Phone: +27 12 841 4017

Fax: +27 12 841 4720

Eugenia Ternovska

School of Computing Science

Simon Fraser University

Burnaby, B.C.


Phone: +1 778.782.4771

Fax: +1 778.782.3045

© Copyright NMR-2010

                        NMR'2010 Special session on Argument, Dialogue and Decision


         Session web page:,_Dialog_and_Decision.html

Since the work of John Pollock, Ronald Loui and others in the eighties, argumentation has proven to be successful in nonmonotonic logic. In the early nineties Dung and others showed that argumentation is also very suitable as a general framework for relating different nonmonotonic logics. Finally, in recent years argument-based logics have been used to facilitate reasoning and communication in multi-agent systems.

Argumentation can be studied on its own, but it also has interesting relations with other topics, such as dialogue and decision. For instance, argumentation is an essential component of such phenomena as fact finding investigations, computer supported collaborative work, negotiation, legal procedure, and online dispute mediation. However, only recently researchers have begun to explore the use of argumentation in these contexts.


This workshop is devoted to the logical study of argumentation and its connections with decision and dialogue. In particular, we invite submissions of original research on the following topics.

   - semantics

   - proof theory

   - complexity and resource limitations

   - applications to epistemic and practical reasoning

   - applications to informal theories of argumentation

   - comparison with other types of nonmonotonic logic

The development of argument-based logical systems in formal models of multi-agent reasoning and interaction, such as

   - fact finding investigations

   - negotiation

   - distributed sense-making

   - dispute resolution and mediation

   - decision making

Session co-chairs

Iyad Rahwan , British University in Dubai, UAE; University of Edinburgh, UK

Guillermo R. Simari, Universidad Nacional del Sur, Argentina


Submissions are limited to 7 pages using KR/AAAI paper format (See Only PDF format will be accepted.

Submissions should be sent via EasyChair using the following site:

Please contact the co-chairs by e-mail for any queries.


Submission of papers: January 29 (Friday), 2010

Notification of acceptance: March 1, 2010

Camera ready copy: April 6, 2010


Leila Amgoud, Universite Paul Sabatier, France

Jamal Bentahar, Concordia University, Canada

Carlos Chesnevar, Universidad Nacional del Sur, Argentina

Paul E. Dunne, University of Liverpool, UK

Alejandro Garcia, Universidad Nacional del Sur, Argentina

Anthony Hunter, University College London

Michael Maher, National ICT Australia

Sanjay Modgil, King's College, London, UK

Nir Oren, King's College, London, UK

Simon Parsons, Brooklyn College CUNY, USA

Henry Prakken, Utrecht University and University of Groningen, The Netherlands

Iyad Rahwan, British University in Dubai, UAE; University of Edinburgh, UK

Guillermo R. Simari, Universidad Nacional del Sur, Argentina

Paolo Torroni, University of Bologna, Italy

Bart Verheij, University of Groningen, Netherlands

Simon Wells, University of Dundee, Scotland, UK